PBR Canada National Finals Buck Back to Edmonton, Alberta and Rogers Place Nov. 8-9, 2024

By: Kacie Albert  Wednesday, November 22, 2023 @ 12:00 PM

The 2024 PBR Canada National Finals will be held in Edmonton, Alberta, on Nov. 8-9. Photo: Covy Moore/CovyMoore.com.

EDMONTON, Alta. (November 22, 2023) – For the fourth time in history, PBR (Professional Bull Riders) will hold the Canadian National Finals, presented by Command Tubular Products, in Edmonton, Alberta, with the season-culminating event, part of the elite Cup Series, returning to the state-of-the-art Rogers Place Nov. 8-9 when the 2024 PBR Canada Champion will be crowned.

Season long, riders have the opportunity to compete at dozens of Cup Series and Touring Pro Division events across Canada to earn points towards the Canadian national standings, all in an effort to be the No. 1-ranked cowboy at year’s end and earn the coveted PBR Canada Championship.

The Canada National Finals, presented by Command Tubular Products, are the richest international finals across the PBR. In 2024, the event will again pay out a record $225,000, including a $100,000 bonus to be awarded to the 2024 PBR Canada Champion.

The bull riding action for 2024 PBR Canada National Finals, presented by Command Tubular Products, begins at 7:00 p.m. MDT on Friday, November 8 and Saturday, November 9 at Rogers Place.

Tickets for the event go on sale Friday, November 24 at 10:00 a.m. MT, and start at $40, standard fees may apply. They can be purchased online at Ticketmaster.ca. 

The 2024 slate of events marks the ninth season for the PBR Canada Cup Series, as a unified competitive series traveling across the country and broadcast on TSN.

This November, Dakota Buttar (Eatonia, Saskatchewan) cemented his name in history, completing a come-from-behind surge to be crowned the 2023 PBR Canada Champion, becoming just the fourth rider in history to win the title in multiple seasons.

Buttar, who won his first title in 2020, travelled to Edmonton for the 2023 PBR Canada National Finals, presented by Command Tubular Products, having not competed in more than a month, suffering a broken collarbone following his early October Cup Series event win in Grande Prairie, Alberta.

As a result of being sidelined, Buttar began the year-end event No. 3 in the standings, 95.66 points back of regular-season No. 1 Cody Coverchuk (Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan).

Proving he had not missed a step, Buttar first put points on the board in Round 1 when he covered Young Blood (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/Legend Rodeo Stock) for 84.75 points. The reserved Saskatchewan native then delivered his second score in as many attempts as he went the distance aboard High Voltage (Wilson Rodeo) for 86 points.

Via the 2-for-2 showing on the opening night of action, Buttar rose to No. 2 in Canada, pulling within 57.66 points of the top spot.

Buttar returned to Rogers Place determined on Championship Saturday not to let another title slip through his fingers. Quick to convert, Buttar recorded the fifth best score of Round 3 when he rode Irish Rebel (Wilson Rodeo) for 85.5 points. The score earned Buttar the second pick in the championship round, an opportunity he used to select Time Marches On (Thompson Rodeo Livestock).

In a decision which proved dividends, Buttar remained in perfect time with the animal athlete, matching him jump-for-jump en route to the requisite 8 as the crowd erupted in raucous cheer. The 86.75-point score punctuated Buttar’s perfect 4-for-4 outing inside the home of the NHL’s Edmonton Oilers.

Finishing the 2023 Canadian National Finals tied for second, Buttar, who earned 199 national points, vaulted to the No. 1 rank in the nation, crowned the 2023 PBR Canada Champion and earning the accompanying $100,000 bonus. Buttar concluded the campaign 38.84 points ahead of 2022 PBR Canada Champion and this season’s No. 2 Nick Tetz (Calgary, Alberta).

A complete list of PBR Canada Champions includes: Tetz (2022); Coverchuk (2021 and); Daylon Swearingen (2019 – Piffard, New York); Zane Lambert (2017 and 2013 – Ponoka, Alberta); Ty Pozzobon (2016 – Merritt, British Columbia), Tanner Byrne (2015 – Prince Albert, Saskatchewan); Stetson Lawrence (2014 – Williston, North Dakota); Aaron Roy (2012, 2010 and 2008 – Yellow Grass, Saskatchewan); Tyler Thomson (2011 – Black Diamond, Alberta); Beau Hill (2009 – West Glacier, Montana); Tyler Pankewitz (2007 – Warburg, Alberta); and Scott Schiffner (2006 – Strathmore, Alberta).

Tyler Craig (Crossfield, Alberta), one of four riders to be flawless, won the 2023 PBR Canada National Finals, finishing 3.5 points ahead of runner-ups Buttar and 2023 PBR Australia Champion Macaulie Leather in the aggregate.

Craig was sensational in the first two rounds of competition, sweeping both Round 1 and Round 2 as he rode Black Mamba (Lazy P Rodeo) for 87 points and Times A Tickin (Thompson Rodeo Livestock) for 86.75 points.

While Craig’s 84.25-point ride on Moonwalk (Thompson Rodeo Livestock) tied for the 10th best of Round 3, the young Albertan remained atop the event leaderboard. Holding the first selection in the championship round bull draft, Craig architected a showdown with Built Tough (Thompson Rodeo Livestock). Poised, Craig nodded with confidence, remaining centered as he reached the whistle for 88.5 points.

Courtesy of the golden finish, Craig earned a check for $40,937.50 and netted 335 national points. He concluded the 2023 season No. 4 in Canada, 130.5 points behind No. 1 Buttar.

Other past PBR Canada National Finals event winners include: Jared Parsonage (2022 – Maple Creek, Saskatchewan); Daylon Swearingen (2021 and 2019 – Piffard, New York); Coverchuk (2018); Lambert (2017 and 2016); Brady Oleson (2015 – Blackfoot, Idaho); Roy (2014); Schiffner (2013); Pozzobon (2012); Dusty Ephrom (2011 – Kenossee Lake, Saskatchewan); Harve Stewart (2011- Stephenville, Texas); Mike Lee (2010 – Decatur, Texas); Guilherme Marchi (2009 – Tres Lagoas, Brazil); Jock Connolly (2008 – Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia); Vince Northrup (2007 – Davidson, Saskatchewan); and Brian Canter (2006 – Randleman, North Carolina).

The PBR Canada National Finals, presented by Command Tubular Products, is the eleventh and final event of the 2024 PBR Canada Cup Series, the nation’s first-ever cross-country, nationally televised PBR series.

The elite Cup Series features Canada’s top bull riders, alongside some of the PBR’s top international athletes, squaring off against the rankest bucking bulls in North America.

At the 2024 iteration of the PBR Canada National Finals, four riders will be seeking history – Tetz, Coverchuk, Buttar and Roy.

Should Buttar repeat as Canadian Champion he would become the first rider to win the title in consecutive seasons, and tie Roy for most Championships won by one rider. If Tetz were to again win the title, he would become the fifth multi-time PBR Canada Champion in history. Should Coverchuk earn his third Canadian Championship, he would also tie Roy for most national titles held by one rider in history. If Roy were to earn his fourth national title, he would further solidify his standing as one of Canada’s greatest bull riders ever.

Stay tuned to PBRCanada.com and follow the tour on Facebook (PBR Canada), Twitter (@PBRCanada), and Instagram (@PBRCanada) for the latest event and broadcast schedule, results, news, stats and more.