Perfect Wyatt Gleeson Wins PBR Canada Touring Pro Division Event in Marwayne, Alberta, to Rise to No. 8 in the 2024 Championship Race

By: Kacie Albert  Friday, April 12, 2024 @ 11:30 PM

Wyatt Gleeson went 2-for-2 to win the Canadian Touring Pro Division event in Marwayne, Alberta. Photo: Covy Moore/

MARWAYNE, Alta. –  As the 2024 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Canada season continued Friday night in Marwayne, Alberta, Wyatt Gleeson (Sundre, Alberta) showed up and showed out, going a perfect 2-for-2 to win the Touring Pro Division’s Marwayne PBR.

Gleeson got off to a quick start in Round 1, delivering what would remain the high-marked ride of the event when he conquered Lil Nasty (Foley Bucking Bulls) for 87 points.

In the second round, the reserved Albertan then cemented his victory when he split the Round 2 win, dominating Black Beetle (Foley Bucking Bulls) for 85 points.

The golden finish earned Gleeson 38.5 national points. He rose from No. 10 to No. 8 in the race for the 2024 PBR Canada Championship and accompanying $100,000 bonus. He is now within 232.5 points of No. 1 Cody Coverchuk (Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan).

Two-time and reigning PBR Canada Champion Dakota Buttar (Eatonia, Saskatchewan) was second, garnering 28 national points.

Buttar rode Housefire (Eno Bucking Bulls) for 85 points in Round 1, before topping Uproar (Foley Bucking Bulls) for 82 points in Round 2.

Attempting to become the first back-to-back Canadian Champion in PBR history, Buttar rose from No. 12 to No. 9 in the standings, inching within 248 points of No. 1 Coverchuk.

Nick Tetz (Calgary, Alberta), who rides for the Arizona Ridge Riders in the separate PBR Teams league, was third.

The 2023 PBR Canada Champion’s 85-point ride on Border Breath (Foley Bucking Bulls) in Round 2 earned him 18.5 national points.

Tetz remained No. 4 in Canada, now within 168 points of the top spot.

Compliments of an 84.5-point ride on Electric Guitar (Thompson Rodeo Livestock) in Round 2, Coy Robbins (Camrose, Alberta) was fourth. The 2017 PBR Canada Rookie of the Year left Marwayne with 14 national points.

Unranked prior to the Marwayne PBR, Robbins rose to No. 24 in the standings.

Rounding out the Top 5 in fifth was three-time PBR Canada Champion Aaron Roy (Yellow Grass, Saskatchewan).

Chasing his unprecedented fourth national title, Roy made the requisite 8 on Here and Now (Thompson Rodeo Livestock) for 83.5 points in Round 1, netting 13 national points.

Roy rose from No. 23 to No. 18 in the Canadian national standings.

In the bull pen, Altitude Adjustment (Eno Bucking Bulls/Wild Child) and Built Tough (Thompson Rodeo Livestock) tied for the Bull of the Event honor, each marked an unrivaled 43 points.

Altitude Adjustment earned the top marks in Round 1 for his 4.06-second buckoff of Micheal Ostashek (Edson, Alberta), while Built Tough topped the leaderboard in Round 2 when he upended Grady Young (Leader, Saskatchewan) in 2.97 seconds.

The 2024 PBR Canada seasons continues Friday, May 10 in Brooks, Alberta. Action for the Touring Pro Division’s Koye Lason Memorial PBR at Centennial Regional Arena gets underway at 7:00pm MDT.

Stay tuned in to and follow the tour on Facebook (PBR Canada), Twitter (@PBRCanada), and Instagram (@PBRCanada) for the latest results, news, stats and more.

PBR Canada Touring Pro Division
Marwayne PBR
Marwayne Multiplex – Marwayne, Alberta
(Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Wyatt Gleeson, 87-85-172.00-38.5 Points.
2. Dakota Buttar, 85-82-167.00-28 Points.
3. Nick Tetz, 0-85-85.00-18.5 Points.
4. Coy Robbins, 0-84.5-84.50-14 Points.
5. Aaron Roy, 83.5-0-83.50-13 Points.
6. Tyler Craig, 0-82-82.00-11 Points.
7. Keaton Martz, 69-0-69.00-2 Points.
Chanse Switzer, 0-0-0.00
Weston Davidson, 0-0-0.00
Marshall Senger, 0-0-0.00
Micheal Ostashek, 0-0-0.00
Eric O'Flynn, 0-0-0.00
William Barrows, 0-0-0.00
Wade Marshall [1], 0-0-0.00
Wade Marshall [2], 0-0-0.00
Orrin Marshall, 0-0-0.00
Clay Gordon, 0-0-0.00
Grady Young, 0-0-0.00