Cody Coverchuk Extends Lead Atop Canadian Standings Via Win at the Touring Pro Division’s PBR Dawson Creek

By: Kacie Albert  Saturday, December 2, 2023 @ 11:30 PM

Cody Coverchuk won the second Touring Pro Division event of the 2024 season in Dawson Creek, British Columbia. Photo: Covy Moore/

DAWSON CREEK, B.C. – Two-time PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Canada Champion Cody Coverchuk continued to ride supreme Saturday night in Dawson Creek, British Columbia, furthering his stronghold on the nation’s No. 1 rank, winning the Touring Pro Division’s PBR Dawson Creek.

Coverchuk, who is chasing his record-tying third national title at season’s end, is now a perfect 4-0 in 2024 competition, having won both events held to date.

As action got underway inside Ovintiv Events Centre, Coverchuk won Round 1, covering Tactical Error (Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp.) for 87 points.

The Saskatchewan man then cemented his second event win of 2024 in the championship round when he conquered Slingin Stones (Lazy P Rodeo) for 86 points.

Courtesy of the golden finish, Coverchuk netted a crucial 37 national points. He extended his lead over No. 2 Jake Maher (Brisbane, Queensland, Australia) to 45.5 national points.

Maher also competed in Dawson Creek, finishing sixth to garner 11 national points. The Australian went 1-for-2, riding Box Cutter (Vold Rodeo) for 83 points in Round 1, only to be tossed by Bo Diddley (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/Legend Rodeo Stock) in 4.85 seconds in the championship round.

Second was Jake Gardner (Fort St. John, British Columbia).

The home province hopeful stumbled in Round 1, upended by Split Trigger (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/S&E Bucking Bulls) in 4.69 seconds.

Advancing via time to the championship round, Garnder made the most of his renewed shot at victory.

Paired with Warning Shot (Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp.), Garnder nodded with confidence, matching the powerful animal athlete jump-for-jump en route to the requisite 8. Awarded a round-best 88.5 points, Garnder catapulted up the event leaderboard to second.

Leaving the event with 20 national points, Gardner rose from unranked to No. 5 in the nation. He is now within 77.5 points of No. 1 Coverchuk.

Third was Dawson Creek’s own Auzyn Corr (Dawson Creek, British Columbia).

Corr’s 88-point ride atop Chosen (Vold Rodeo/Prescott) in the championship round garnered him 18 national points. He’s now ranked No. 7 in Canada, 79.5 points back of No. 1 Coverchuk.

Courtesy of an 84-point ride aboard Chain Gang (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/S&E Bucking Bulls) in Round 1, Chanse Switzer (Hazenmore, Saskatchewan) was fourth.

Switzer earned 15 national points and is now tied for No. 9 in the Canadian standings, 82.5 points back of the top spot.

Rounding out the Top 5 in fifth was Griffin Koester (Rockyford, Alberta, Canada).

Koester rode Disco Daze (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/Legend Rodeo Stock) for 83.5 points to earn 13 national points.

In the bull pen, Fake News (Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp.) and Jojo’s Mojo (Lazy P Rodeo) tied for the Bull of the Event honor, both posting a 43-point bull score in Round 1. Fake News earned the top marks for his 3.97-second buckoff of Nate Carnes (Quesnel, British Columbia), while Jojo’s Mojo posted the score for his 2.78-second effort against Weston Davidson (Strongfield, Saskatchewan).

Stay tuned in to and follow the tour on Facebook (PBR Canada), Twitter (@PBRCanada), and Instagram (@PBRCanada) for the latest results, news, stats and more.

PBR Canada Touring Pro Division
PBR Dawson Creek
Ovintiv Events Centre – Dawson Creek, British Columbia
(Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Cody Coverchuk, 87-86-173.00-37 Points.
2. Jake Gardner, 0-88.5-88.50-20 Points.
3. Auzyn Corr, 0-88-88.00-18 Points.
4. Chanse Switzer, 84-0-84.00-15 Points.
5. Griffin Koester, 83.5-0-83.50-13 Points.
6. Jake Maher, 83-0-83.00-11 Points.
7. Keaton Martz, 79.5-0-79.50-9 Points.
Micheal Ostashek, 0-0-0.00
Ashton Sahli, 0-0-0.00
Fabian Dueck, 0-0-0.00
Tyler Craig, 0-0-0.00
Weston Davidson, 0-0-0.00
Cole Young, 0-0-0.00
Jett Lambert, 0-0-0.00
Zachery King, 0-0-0.00
Eric O'Flynn, 0-0-0.00
Elijah Gordon, 0-0-0.00
Clay Gordon, 0-0-0.00
Issac Janzen, 0-0-0.00
Charlie Yahey, 0-0-0.00
Chad Neufeld, 0-0-0.00
Tristen Manning, 0-0-0.00
Nate Carnes, 0-0-0.00
Dixon Tattrie, 0-0-0.00
Drake Wasieczko, 0-0-0.00