Claresholm-Native Logan Biever Eighth at PBR Velocity Tour’s Cedar Park Chute Out in Texas

By: Easton Colvin  Sunday, January 17, 2021 @ 10:14 AM

Logan Biever finished eighth at the PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour's Cedar Park Chute Out. Photo: Covy Moore/

CEDAR PARK, Texas – As the lone Canadian currently competing in the United States, Logan Biever (Claresholm, Alberta) finished eighth at the season-launch PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour’s Cedar Park Chute Out in Texas.

Marking the 22-year-old’s career-best finish on the league’s expansion series, Biever’s Top-10 effort was headlined by his runner-up effort in Round 1, scored 87.5 points on Wired Up (Rafter B Bucking Bulls/Harris).

Biever was unable to reach the 8 on the final day of action, bested by Perfect Pistol (Winston Bucking Bulls/Melton Bull Co.) in 3.21 seconds in Round 2, and V7 (Silent 7/Hilton Bull Co.) in 3.4 seconds in the championship round.  

For his efforts, the Canuck netted four world points and $867.90. He is now tied for the No. 34 rank in the PBR world standings, 126 points behind No. 1 Mauricio Moreira (Gaviao Peixoto, Brazil).

J.T. Moore (Alvin, Texas) took home the PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour Cedar Park Chute Out buckle thanks to a perfect 3-for-3 performance over the course of the two-night, season-launch event.

After finishing seventh in Round 1 on Friday night thanks to an 86-point ride on Tupac (Dennis Davis Bucking Bulls/Just For Kicks), Moore made the 8 aboard Nightmare (Richardson Land & Cattle Co) for 88 points to split the Round 2 win on Saturday night.

One of four riders to cover their first two bovine athlete opponents, Moore punched his ticket to the championship round with momentum on his side.

Drawing The Beast (Yount Bucking Bulls, LLC), Moore burst from the chutes in the championship round, riding to an 84-point score and the event victory.

The only rider to go a perfect 3-for-3, Moore earned 40 world points and $6,180.50 along with an automatic qualification to the top tier Unleash The Beast tour’s Okeechobee Invitational on Jan. 30-31 in Okeechobee, Florida.

Moore now sits No. 5 in the world standings.

Missouri native Kyle Jones (Troy, Missouri) finished second.

After bucking off in 7.4 seconds in Round 1, Jones rebounded in Round 2, riding to an 86.5-point score on Hickory (Oilfield Outlaw’s Bucking Bulls).

The championship round brought Jones face-to-face with Fat Boy (Rafter B Bucking Bulls/Harris). The eight-year PBR veteran came out on top, posting another 86.5 point score.

The 2-for-3 effort earned Jones 29.5 world points and $4,602.50, and he is now ranked No. 9 in the world.

Third was Paulo Lima (Bezerros, Brazil) turning in a 2-for-3 performance.

Covering Speckled Chicken (Rawson/Obernagel/Daisy’s Bucking Bulls) for 86.5 points and a fourth place finish in Round 1, Lima’s success continued in Round 2 on Chicken George (Rawson/Obernagel/Daisy’s Bucking Bulls) as he made the 8 for 85.5 points.

Lima’s championship round draw, Blessed (Nothin’ But Try Ranch/’Diggers Bucking Bulls) proved too much for the Brazilian, sending Lima to the dirt in 5.7 seconds.

Lima’s bronze finish netted him 12.33 world points and $2,136.88. Lima is now ranked No. 20 in the world standings.

Rising star Junior Patrik Souza (Sonora, Brazil) finished fourth in the three-round event.

Hitting the dirt during Round 1 on Friday night in 6.17 seconds, Souza used an 88-point trip on Mic Drop (UTC/Sellers Bucking Bulls) to tie for the Round 2 victory.

An 82-point ride on Mongoose (Cunningham/Scoggins) in the championship round solidified Souza fourth place, and earned him 14.5 world points and $2,531.38.

Rounding out the Top 5 was 19-year-old Conner Halverson (Gordon, Nebraska) in fifth.

The first rider to cover two bulls, Halverson backed up an 84-point ride on Kangaroo (Nothin’ But Try Ranch/’Diggers Bucking Bulls) in Round 1 with an 84.5-point ride on Trip (Topline Steel Buckin’) in Round 2.

Looking for the first PWVT win of his career, Halverson was tasked with Money Maker (Mason/Smith Bucking Bulls) in the championship round, but he failed to make the whistle and was dispatched in 7.24 seconds.

Halverson earned four world points and $828.45 for his efforts.

The 2021 PBR Cedar Park Chute out was also the first stop on the 2021 Million Dollar Bull Team Challenge, with the final night of competition’s first-place prize taken home by Mason/Smith Bucking bulls with 280.49 points. Rafter B Bucking Bulls/Harris came in second, turning in 278.31 points, and Silent 7/Hilton Bull Co in third with 277.59 points.

Fans can relive each out from the 2021 PBR Cedar Park Chute out on Sunday, January 17 at 8:00 a.m. ET via the RidePass mobile app or at

The PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour returns to action on Friday, January 22 in Greenville, South Carolina at 8:00 p.m. ET. The 2021 Greenville Invitational can be seen LIVE exclusively on RidePass.

Professional Bull Riders Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour
Cedar Park Chute Out
H-E-B Center – Cedar Park, Texas
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. J.T. Moore, 86-88-84-258.00-40.5 Points.
2. Kyle Jones, 0-86.5-86.5-173.00-29.5 Points.
3. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 86.5-85.5-0-172.00-12.33 Points.
4. Junior Patrik Souza, 0-88-82-170.00-14.5 Points.
5. Conner Halverson, 84-84.5-0-168.50-4 Points.
6. Lucas Fideles Souza, 84.5-83.5-0-168.00-3 Points.
7. Leonardo Lima, 88.5-0-0-88.50-9 Points.
8. Logan Biever, 87.5-0-0-87.50-4 Points.
9. Eli Vastbinder, 87-0-0-87.00-3 Points.
10. Valdiron de Oliveira, 86.5-0-0-86.50-1.33 Points.
(tie). Hunter Ball, 0-86.5-0-86.50-2.5 Points.
(tie). Francisco Morales, 86.5-0-0-86.50-1.33 Points.
13. Jesse Petri, 0-86-0-86.00-1 Points.
14. Triston Dean, 0-85.5-0-85.50-1 Points.
15. Chase Dougherty, 85-0-0-85.00
(tie). Dalton Rudman, 0-85-0-85.00
(tie). Francisco Garcia Torres, 85-0-0-85.00
18. Luis Blanco, 83-0-0-83.00
19. Marcelo Procopio Pereira, 0-82-0-82.00
(tie). Shane Proctor, 0-82-0-82.00
21. Lucas Phipps, 56.5-0-0-56.50
Rodrigo Melgar, 0-0-0-0.00
Keith Hall, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
River Stephenson, 0-0-0-0.00
Jake Gowdy, 0-0-0-0.00
Alex Cardozo, 0-0-0-0.00
Marcus Mast, 0-0-0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Casper, 0-0-0-0.00
Jake Lockwood, 0-0-0-0.00
Devon Weaver, 0-0-0-0.00
Grayson Cole, 0-0-0-0.00
Romildo Rodrigues, 0-0-0-0.00
Ky Hamilton, 0-0-0-0.00
Carlos Gomes Junior, 0-0-0-0.00
Austin Covington, 0-0-0-0.00
Laramie Craigen, 0-0-0-0.00
Thor Hoefer II, 0-0-0-0.00
Cole Skender, 0-0-0-0.00
Juan Carlos Contreras, 0-0-0-0.00
Ricky Aguiar, 0-0-0-0.00
Eli Miller, 0-0-0-0.00
Ruger Piva, 0-0-0-0.00
Jordan Spears, 0-0-0-0.00