Jess Lockwood and Dakota Buttar Share Round 1 Win in Albuquerque

By: Mandi MacCary  Saturday, March 17, 2018 @ 1:54 PM

Dakota Buttar rides Kmag YoYo for 88.25 points. Photo: Andy Watson / BullStockMedia

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. –2017 reigning PBR World Champion Jess Lockwood (Volborg, Montana) and Canadian Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Canada) tied for the Round 1 win on the opening night of the 25th PBR: Unleash The Beast, Ty Murray Invitational at the Dreamstyle Arena in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Lockwood rode Bar Thirty One (Hart Cattle Company), climbing to No.12 in the world standings, while Buttar rode to the eight seconds aboard Kmag YoYo (5S/Martinez/Curreu Creek) to jump three spots in the world standings from No. 26 to No. 23. The pair recorded identical 88.25-point scores and each took home 80 world points and $3,165.

Brennon Eldred (Sulphur, Oklahoma) delivered an 87.75-point ride aboard White Omega (Diamond G Rodeos, Inc) Friday night for third place in the round. For his effort, Eldred gained 50 world points and pocketed $2,000.

With an 86.75-point ride, Nathan Burtenshaw (Coonamble, Australia) finished in fourth place and launched from No. 36 in the world standings to No. 32. The young Aussie conquered Dirt Man Do (Halpain/ Martinelli) and gained 40 world points and a $1,300 paycheck.

Rounding out the Top 5 Saturday night, Native American invitee Cody Jesus(Window Rock, Arizona) turned in an 86.5-point trip aboard War Party(Diamond G Rodeos, Inc.). For his effort, Jesus gained 30 world points and pocketed $850.

The best bull riders in the world will return to DreamStyle Arena on Saturday, March 17 for Round 2 of the Ty Murray Invitational.

Fans will also be able to watch the action in its entirety on or via the RidePass mobile app. Action from Round 1 will be viewable starting at 8 a.m. ET on Saturday, March 17.

25th PBR: Unleash The Beast

Ty Murray Invitational

Dreamstyle Arena - Albuquerque, New Mexico

Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Jess Lockwood, 88.25-0-0-0-88.25-80 Points.

(tie). Dakota Buttar, 88.25-0-0-0-88.25-80 Points.

3. Brennon Eldred, 87.75-0-0-0-87.75-50 Points.

4. Nathan Burtenshaw, 86.75-0-0-0-86.75-40 Points.

5. Cody Jesus, 86.25-0-0-0-86.25-30 Points.

6. Cody Teel, 86-0-0-0-86.00-15 Points.

7. Cody Nance, 85.5-0-0-0-85.50-2.5 Points.

(tie). Jose Vitor Leme, 85.5-0-0-0-85.50-2.5 Points.

9. Fernando Henrique Novais, 85.25-0-0-0-85.25

(tie). Colten Jesse, 85.25-0-0-0-85.25

11. Lucas Divino, 85-0-0-0-85.00

12. Silvano Alves, 84.75-0-0-0-84.75

13. Juan Carlos Contreras, 84-0-0-0-84.00

14. Kaique Pacheco, 83.5-0-0-0-83.50

15. Valdiron de Oliveira, 81.5-0-0-0-81.50

16. Ueberson Duarte, 44.75-0-0-0-44.75

Ramon de Lima, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Luciano De Castro, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0-0.00

Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Keyshawn Whitehorse, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Tye Chandler, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Chase Robbins, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Cody Campbell, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Brady Oleson, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Michael Lane, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Reese Cates, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Ryan Miller, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Bryan Titman, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Troy Wilkinson, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Alejandro Gamboa Calvo, 0-0-0-0-0.00