J.B. Mauney Records 500th Qualified Ride Inside Madison Square Garden

By: Kacie Albert  Saturday, January 6, 2018 @ 9:57 AM

Dakota Buttar rides Good Ride's Jailhouse Jr. for 87.25 during the first round of the New York City PBR 25th Anniversary tour. Photo by Andy Watson

NEW YORK CITY – J.B. Mauney (Statesville, North Carolina) made sports history Friday night at the 25th Unleash The Beast Monster Energy Buck Off at the Garden after covering his first round draw, becoming the third rider in PBR (Professional Bull Riders) history to record 500 qualified rides on the elite tour.

Mauney joins 2008 World Champion Guilherme Marchi (Três Lagoas, Brazil, 613 qualified rides), and 2004 World Champion Mike Lee (Decatur, Texas, 525 qualified rides), as the only riders to record more than 500 rides on the premier series.

The two-time World Champion’s record-setting ride came during Round 1 of the season-opening event when he made the 8 aboard All The Way Up (K-C Bucking Bulls) for 87.25 points.

The score tied Mauney for second in the round, netting him $4,500 and 67.5 world points.

Also competing in the first 15/15 Bucking Battle of the 2018 season, Mauney made his 501st qualified ride when he covered Breaking Bad (Broken Arrow Bucking Bulls) for 87.5 points.

Once again tying for second, Mauney collected an additional $4,500 and 82.5 world points. Collectively he earned $9,000 and 150 world points.

The event’s opening round was won by 2016 World Champion Cooper Davis (Jasper, Texas) who rode Ram It (K-C Bucking Bulls) for 89.75 points, collecting $6,500.00 and 125 world points.

Tying Mauney for second in Round 1 was Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Canada) whose 87.25-point trip came aboard GOOD RIDE’S Jailhouse Jr. (John Peck/Kaplow Insurance/Viducic Bucking Bulls).

The 2017 Glen Keeley Award winner’s runner-up finish earned him a paycheck for $4,500 and 67.5 world points.

Fellow Canadian Tanner Byrne (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada) rode Black Ice (Broken Arrow Bucking Bulls) for 82.5 points and a split of tenth.

Ryan Dirteater (Hulbert, Oklahoma) and Alex Marcilio (Macaubal, Brazil) finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Dirteater rode Tractor Tippin (Jo-Z Bucking Bulls/K-C) for 87 points to win $2,500 and 50 world points, while Marcilio was 84.75 points on Coopers Comet (Broken Arrow Bucking Bulls) to net $1,500 and 40 world points.

Kaique Pacheco (Itatiba, Brazil) was the victor in the first 15/15 Bucking Battle of the season.

The 2015 Rookie of the Year won the special round after covering Moto Moto (Jane Clark/Gene Owen) for 87.75 points. Now a perfect 3-for-3 against the bovine athlete, Pacheco collected $7,000 and 150 world points.

Tied for second with Mauney was 2012 PRCA Champion Cody Teel (Kountze, Texas) who covered Hedoo (Jane Clark/Gene Owen) for a matching 87.5-point score. Teel earned $4,500 and 82.5 world points for the runner-up finish.

2017 Rookie of the Year and World Finals Event Winner Jose Vitor Leme (Ribas do Rio Pardo, Brazil) rode Mystikal (Jane Clark/Gene Owen) for 87 points to finish fourth in the first 15/15 Bucking Battle of his career.

Despite bucking off in Round 1 of his elite tour debut by Nailed (Broken Arrow Bucking Bulls), the Brazilian young-gun still earned $3,000.00 and 60 world points.

Dener Barbosa (Paulo de Faria, Brazil) and Eduardo Aparecido (Gouvelandia, Brazil) tied for fifth after logging matching 76.5 points trips, each winning $1,000 and 35 world points.

Barbosa’s qualified ride came on Wiley (JQH Bucking Bulls/Wallgren Bull Co.), while Aparecido was successful on Mar-A-Lago (Gene Owen Bucking Battle).

The Top 35 riders in the world return to Madison Square Garden on Saturday, January 7 for Round 2 of the Monster Energy Buck Off at the Garden.

Fans can catch all the action from the first 15/15 Bucking Battle of the season on CBS Sports at 12:00 p.m. ET on Saturday, January 6. Action from Round 1 will be available in its entirety at PBR.com/on-demand starting at 8:00 a.m. ET on Saturday, January 6. 


Professional Bull Riders – 25th Unleash The Beast

Monster Energy Buck Off at the Garden               

Madison Square Garden, New York City, New York

Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points) 

1. Cooper Davis, 89.75-0-0-0-89.75-125 Points.

2. Dakota Buttar, 87.25-0-0-0-87.25-67.5 Points.

(tie). J.B. Mauney, 87.25-0-0-0-87.25-67.5 Points.

4. Ryan Dirteater, 87-0-0-0-87.00-50 Points.

5. Alex Marcilio, 84.75-0-0-0-84.75-40 Points.

6. Dener Barbosa, 84.25-0-0-0-84.25-20 Points.

7. Guilherme Marchi, 83.75-0-0-0-83.75-10 Points.

8. Gage Gay, 83.25-0-0-0-83.25

9. Derek Kolbaba, 83-0-0-0-83.00

10. Valdiron de Oliveira, 82.5-0-0-0-82.50

(tie). Tanner Byrne, 82.5-0-0-0-82.50

(tie). Luciano De Castro, 82.5-0-0-0-82.50

13. Mason Lowe, 82.25-0-0-0-82.25

14. Ramon de Lima, 81.5-0-0-0-81.50

(tie). Joao Ricardo Vieira, 81.5-0-0-0-81.50

16. Shane Proctor, 81-0-0-0-81.00

17. Silvano Alves, 66.5-0-0-0-66.50

Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Cody Campbell, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Jose Vitor Leme, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0-0.00

Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Ednei Caminhas, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Troy Wilkinson, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Cody Nance, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Robson Palermo, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Francisco Morales, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Jess Lockwood, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Emilio Resende, 0-0-0-0-0.00




Professional Bull Riders – 25th Unleash The Beast

15/15 Bucking Battle, Monster Energy Buck Off at the Garden   

1. Kaique Pacheco, 87.75-87.75-150 Points.

2. J.B. Mauney, 87.5-87.50-82.5 Points.

(tie). Cody Teel, 87.5-87.50-82.5 Points.

4. Jose Vitor Leme, 87-87.00-60 Points.

5. Dener Barbosa, 76.5-76.50-35 Points.

(tie). Eduardo Aparecido, 76.5-76.50-35 Points.

Cooper Davis, 0-0.00

Rubens Barbosa, 0-0.00

Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0.00

Derek Kolbaba, 0-0.00

Stormy Wing, 0-0.00

Fabiano Vieira, 0-0.00

Silvano Alves, 0-0.00

Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0.00

Jess Lockwood, 0-0.00