Johnston claims first PBR victory in Teepee

By: Ted Stovin  Saturday, March 11, 2017 @ 4:44 PM

Dayton Johnston rides Village Idiot for 87.5 points to win in Teepee Creek. PBR Canada photo by Covy Moore.

TEEPEE CREEK, Alberta -- In just his second event in Professional Bull Riders (PBR) competition, rookie phenom Dayton Johnston claimed the title at the first ever Teepee Creek PBR Classic presented by Lyons Production Services.

Official results from the first Teepee Creek PBR Classic presented by Lyons Production Services on March 11th, 2017 in Teepee Creek, AB at the Teepee Creek Ag Events Centre.

Round one: 1. Zane Lambert on X6 Ranch's Solid 3, 86 points, $663.00; 2. Lonnie West, 83, $497.25; 3. (tie) Cody Coverchuk and Wacey Finkbeiner, 82.5, $248.63 each; 5. (tie) Brock Radford and Garrett Green, 81.5; 7. (tie) Dayton Johnston and Zane Lambert, 81; 9. Tristan Carlier, 77.5; 10. Dakota Louis, 60.

Finals: 1. Dayton Johnston on Outlaw Buckers' Village Idiot, 87.5 points, $718.25; 2. Lonnie West, 85, $552.50; 3. Dakota Louis, 78, $368.75; no other qualified rides.

Aggregate, total money and points earned: 1. Dayton Johnston - Milk River, AB - 168.5 points on two bulls, $3,425.50, 60 points; 2. Lonnie West - Cadogan, AB - 168, $2,983.50, 30; 3. Dakota Louis - Browning, MT - 138, $1,547.00, 20; 4. Zane Lambert - Ponoka, AB - 86 points on one bull, $1,436.50, 15; 5. (tie) Cody Coverchuk - Meadow Lake, SK and Wacey Finkbeiner - Ponoka, AB - 82.5, $635.38 each, 7.5 points each; 7. (tie) Brock Radford - DeWinton, AB and Garrett Green - Meeting Creek, AB - 81.5, $193.37 each; 9. Zane Lambert  - Ponoka, AB - 81; 10. Tristan Carlier - Medicine Hat, AB - 77.5.

Next up on the PBR Canada Touring Pro Division schedule is stop number three for 2017, in Marwayne, AB on Saturday April 8th.

PBR Canada logo

About Professional Bull Riders (PBR) Canada:

Professional Bull Riders (PBR), which has events in five countries and is available in more than 400 million homes globally, has competed in Canada since 1996. The Monster Energy Canadian Tour debuted in 2016 as the country’s first national series. Points earned at Canadian events count towards qualification to the elite PBR Canadian Championship. Upon the conclusion of the Championship, the bull rider with the most regular season and Championship points is crowned the PBR Canada Champion. Points won at all Canadian events count toward qualifying on the prestigious PBR Built Ford Tough Series and PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas, Nevada. Rogers Place in Edmonton, AB will be the first-ever Canadian host of the PBR Global Cup on November 9-11, 2017. The three-day event will feature the world’s best bull riders from Canada, the United States, Mexico, Brazil and Australia, all competing for their country and a Canadian-record purse of $1,000,000, the second-largest payout in North America next to the PBR World Finals in Las Vegas. For more information on PBR Canada, go to, or follow on Facebook at and Twitter at