Lonnie West Wins Touring Pro Division Event in Prince Albert to Climb to No. 7 in the Race for the 2021 PBR Canada Championship

By: Kacie Albert  Monday, September 27, 2021 @ 5:09 PM

Lonnie West is now ranked No. 7 in the race for the 2021 PBR Canada Championship. Photo: Covy Moore/CovyMoore.com.

PRINCE ALBERT, Sask. – No rider was more dominant than Lonnie West (Cadogan, Alberta) this past weekend in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, at the Prince Albert PBR, presented by Riverside Dodge, marking the 15th Touring Pro Division of the 2021 season. As one of seven riders to go a perfect 2-for-2, West captured his second event win of the year, surging to No. 7 in the race for the 2021 PBR Canada Championship, and accompanying $50,000 bonus.

As action got underway, West tied with Australian sensation Callum Miller (Warwick, Queensland) for the Round 1 win, delivering an impressive 88-point trip. West covered Western Wine (CS Bucking Bulls), while Miller went the distance aboard Hot Tamale (Two Bit Bucking Bulls).

West then took sole ownership of the No. 1 position on the event leaderboard when he brought the raucous Prince Albert crowd to its feet with an 89.5-point trip atop Spooky Lukie (Two Bit Bucking Bulls) in the championship round.

The golden finish earned West a critical 29 national points, elevating him from No. 9 to No. 7 in the PBR Canada standings. He now trails No. 1 Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Saskatchewan) by 66.66 points.

Seeking history in 2021, Buttar extended his lead atop the national standings by parlaying his double-entry into both a fourth and fifth-place result, going a flawless 4-for-4.  

Buttar clinched fourth at the event compliments of an 81.5-point ride aboard Claude (Skori Bucking Bulls) in Round 1, and an 89-point effort atop 2019 PBR Canada Bull of the Finals Finning Lil Shorty (Flying Four Bucking Bulls) in the championship round.

The reigning PBR Canada Champion went on to register his second Top-5 finish of the event after riding Broken Trigger (Skori Bucking Bulls) for 83.5 points in Round 1, and Hanna Motors Wilford (Skori Bucking Bulls) for 86 points in the championship round.

Collectively Buttar earned 10.33 national points in Prince Albert. He now leads No. 2 contender Zane Lambert (Ponoka, Alberta) by 36.66 points.

Should Buttar earn the PBR Canada Championship in 2021, he would become the first rider in history to win the coveted honor in back-to-back seasons. Further, he would become just the third multi-time PBR Canada Champion, joining the likes of two-time Champion Lambert, and three-time title holder Aaron Roy (Yellow Grass, Saskatchewan).

Buttar, however, is embroiled in a fierce race atop the standings.

Also going 2-for-2 in Prince Albert, Lambert delivered a third-place result, further intensifying the already heated battle for the national title.

Lambert first delivered the fourth-best score of the opening round when he covered Blue North (Two Bit Bucking Bulls) for 85 points.

His momentum then continued in the championship round, remaining red hot when he rode Finning Twitch (Flying Four Bucking Bulls) for 87 points.

Earning 12 Canadian points, Lambert overtook young gun Griffin Smeltzer (Claresholm, Alberta) for the No. 2 rank in the national standings.

Backed by a monstrous 90-point effort, Jordan Hansen (Okotoks, Alberta) was second at the Prince Albert PBR, presented by Riverside Dodge, earning 20 national points.

Hansen first put points on the board in Round 1 when he covered Sure Shot (Skori Bucking Bulls) for 85.5 points.

Making magic in the championship round, Hansen registered his first 90-point ride of 2021, and sixth of the year on Canadian soil, when he rode Catch My Drift (Two Bit Bucking Bulls/K Rose Ranch) for 90 points.

Hansen, who was competing at his first PBR Canada event of the year, is now No. 17 in the national standings. He trails No. 1 Buttar by 160.66 points.

In the bull pen, Hanna Motors Winston Bruce (Skori Bucking Bulls) was the top-marked bovine athlete of the event. The bull turned heads in the championship round when he was marked 45 points for his 4.47-second buckoff of 2017 PBR Canada Rookie of the Year Coy Robbins (Camrose, Alberta) in the championship round.

The 2021 PBR Canada season continues Oct. 1-2 with the second elite Cup Series event of the year in Grande Prairie, Alberta. Action for the PBR Grande Prairie BuckWild at Bonnetts Energy Centre, formerly Revolution Place, begins nightly at 7:00 p.m. MDT.

Be sure to stay tuned to PBRCanada.com and follow the tour on Facebook (PBR Canada), Twitter (@PBRCanada), and Instagram (@PBRCanada) for the latest results and schedule of events.

PBR Canada Touring Pro Division – Prince Albert PBR, presented by Riverside Dodge
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan – Byrne Ranch
Event Results (Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Canadian Points)
1. Lonnie West [1], 0-0-88-89.5-177.50-29 Points.
2. Jordan Hansen [1], 0-0-85.5-90-175.50-20 Points.
3. Zane Lambert, 0-0-85-87-172.00-12 Points.
4. Dakota Buttar [2], 0-0-81.5-89-170.50-7 Points.
5. Dakota Buttar [1], 0-0-83.5-86-169.50-3.33 Points.
6. Jake Gardner [2], 0-0-81-86.5-167.50-3 Points.
7. Jake Gardner [1], 0-0-83.5-82.5-166.00-1.33 Points.
8. Callum Miller [1], 0-0-88-0-88.00-6 Points.
9. Tim Lipsett [1], 0-0-83.5-0-83.50-0.33 Points.
10. Blake Smith [2], 0-0-83-0-83.00
11. Coy Robbins [1], 0-0-82-0-82.00
12. Jared Parsonage [1], 0-0-81.5-0-81.50
13. Aaron Roy [1], 0-0-80.5-0-80.50
14. Jared Parsonage [2], 0-0-79-0-79.00
15. Tyler Craig [1], 0-0-68-0-68.00
Logan Biever [1], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Logan Biever [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Coverchuk [1], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Coverchuk [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Callum Miller [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Griffin Smeltzer [1], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Griffin Smeltzer [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Lonnie West [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Ashton Sahli [1], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Ashton Sahli [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Tyler Craig [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Aaron Roy [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Jordan Hansen [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Coy Robbins [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Dawson Shannon [1], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Dawson Shannon [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Weston Davidson [1], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Weston Davidson [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Riley Gagnon [1], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Riley Gagnon [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Tim Lipsett [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Nicholas Klinck [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Landon Schmidt [1], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Landon Schmidt [2], 0-0-0-0-0.00
Blake Smith [1], 0-0-0-0-0.00